September 30, 2016

September 30, 2016 Friday

Katahdin Stream Campground, Kidney Pond Campground, Daicey Pond Campground, Abol Stream Campground, Stump Pond, and home to Starks

I slept in this morning and then did some reading in bed before getting up.  I had a leisurly breakfast of two servings of oatmeal and an extra cup of cocoa.

My neighbors in Lean-to #4 came over and introduced themselves.  They are from Huntsville, Alabama and this is their first visit to Maine.  While we were talking, we spotted a mink meandering along the far shore of Katahdin Stream!  That’s the first I’ve ever seen!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About frankrussellathike2016

I am a retired teacher currently living in Central Maine with my partner, Robyn, two dogs and one cat. Being outdoors any time of year is a highlight of my days and so I decided to thru-hike the Appalacian Trail in 2016. My plan is to start in Georgia at the southern terminus in early March and with the help of family and friends make it to Mt Katahdin in the fall. Robyn is following me, along with our dogs, Daisy and Cammie, supplying me with my food and anything else I may need on the trail.

Leave a comment